Super Healthy Veggie Burger

So, I’ve never had a burger before. Maybe that makes me a good vegetarian? But until recently, I’d never had a veggie burger, either. I think that makes me a bad vegetarian.

There’s just something about the idea of burgers (veggie or otherwise) that has always freaked me out. What holds them together? What are they trying to hide between all those layers of condiments? Is it possible to bite into one and not look like a hungry hippo?

I did, however, stumble across one veggie burger recipe that looked acceptable. More than acceptable, it looked yummy. And it included an avocado spread for the bun! I like to know what all of the ingredients are in something like this, and after scanning the recipe I realized that I liked each ingredient individually.

14536881_10208943028166328_1222708666_o14513792_10208943028206329_349287430_oThey say that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. With so many delicious (and healthy!) parts, I knew that I wanted this veggie burger to be the one to take my virginity. Well, that virginity.

Spoiler alert: these burgers are bomb. As I whipped these bad boys up, I was jamming to some classic 80’s rock and Snapchatting my friends an annoying number of pictures of my food prep. I couldn’t help it. Seriously, the ingredients looked gorgeous together and apart. That’s one thing I love about vegan food: it’s usually pretty in all stages of production.

Without further ado, I give you:


Healthy Black Bean Sweet Potato Burgers

Burger Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into cubes
  • 2 c. cooked rice
  • 3/4 c. black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 c. corn
  • 1/2 red onion, minced
  • Splash of olive oil
  • 3 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Optional: I threw in half a tablespoon of lemon pepper spice because I’m a hedonist

Avocado Spread Ingredients:

  • 1 avocado
  • 2 tbsp. lime juice
  • 2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Makes 8-10 burgers
Prep: 50 minutes
Vegan, gluten-free

Instructions:

  1. If using dried black beans, soak overnight. If you forgot to do that (like idiot me), put them into a saucepan and cover with 3 inches of water. Heat on medium-low uncovered for 2-3 hours. Drain and rinse.
  2. Place chopped sweet potatoes in a pan with 1/4 c. water. Simmer covered over medium heat until soft, about 20-30 minutes.
  3. Prepare the rest of the burger ingredients and combine in a large bowl.
  4. One potatoes are soft, mash the fuckers. Transfer them to the aforementioned large bowl and mix.
  5. Spray skillet with non-stick cooking spray and place over medium heat. Form the mixture into patties and place them in the pan. Allow to brown, then gently flip onto the other side. Each side should take 6-8 minutes.
  6. For the spread: Place all spread ingredients into a food processor. Use the finished product as a delicious cement to hold the burger patty to the bun.
2 thoughts on “Super Healthy Veggie Burger

Leave a Reply

